1. Home
  2. Course Offering Information
  3. Changing the Start/End Dates for a Brightspace Course
  1. Home
  2. Getting Started with Brightspace
  3. Changing the Start/End Dates for a Brightspace Course

Changing the Start/End Dates for a Brightspace Course

Changing a Course’ Start/End Dates in Brightspace

Watch Changing a Course’ Start and End Dates in Brightspace

By default, courses in Brightspace have a Start and End date that match the Algonquin academic calendar.  Instructors can edit theses default Start and End dates for their courses.  This will not hide your course from students; a closed course will still allow students to continue to access content, activities, and the gradebook.  To hide your course from students, please follow the steps listed in our Hiding a Course at the End of the Term document.

Why Alter a Course’s Start and/or End Date(s)

Instructors may wish to make their course available to students prior to the Start date in order to allow students to view content such as the Course Outline and the Course Section Information ahead of time.  Additionally, in order for students to receive and view Announcements/emails sent from the course, a course must be accessible to students (meaning the course’s Start or End date must be adjusted accordingly to ensure that the course is open to students at the time the Announcement or email is posted-please see Notes below). 

To change the Start/End dates in your course:

1. Go to Tools > Course Admin

2. Select Course Offering Information

3. Here, modify the Start Date and/or the End Date.

4. Click the blue Save button.

Note: 

            If the End Date is in the past, your course will be displayed to you and your students as Closed.  Students can still access a Closed course, you can still send emails to your students from within a closed course, but, if you post a new announcement, it will not be sent as an email to your students.

            If the Start Date is in the future, then your course will look greyed out. Students will see the course listed on the My Courses widget, but they won’t have access to course content. You can still send emails to your students from within the course, but, if you post a new announcement, it will not be sent as an email to your students.

Changing a Course’ Start and End Dates in Brightspace

Need to contact us for support?

If you can’t find the answer to your question in our knowledge base, there are several methods to reach us and get assistance.
Please take a moment to read the How to get assistance page.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles